Go To ↓ Navigation & Information Other Information

Graduate Faculty

Membership on the Graduate Faculty is determined by the Graduate Council on the basis of an individual’s duties and qualifications after recommendation of the appropriate coordinator of graduate studies and academic dean. Standards of the College Delegate Assembly of  Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges require that Graduate Faculty members be productive, creative scholars. Productive scholarship requires devotion to the discovery, development, and refinement of knowledge and techniques in one’s field of expertise. Recommendations for appointment further are restricted to persons who are, or will be, actively providing graduate academic services and/or graduate instruction for the University.

Appointment to the Graduate Faculty is recognition of outstanding achievement and not an honor bestowed simply because of position or service. Formal appointment to the Graduate Faculty is made by the President at the request of the Graduate Council.

Graduate Faculty Members Listed by College

College of Arts & Sciences

Regular Membership

Edith Ellen Barker

Scott Beslin

Ramaraj B. Boopathy

Jane Carlson

Deborah Cibelli

Katherine Conner

Michael Zachary Darnell

Jean Donegan

Yusheng Dou

John P. Doucet

James A. Elithorp Jr.

Richmond Eustis

Allyse M. Ferrara

Quenton C. Fontenot

Matthew R. Gamel

Sean Allen Graham

Todd Kennedy

Marilyn Kilgen

Kenneth Klaus

Gary J. LaFleur

Glenn V. Lo

Nicholas Mainieri

Earl P. Melancon Jr.

Rajkumar Nathaniel

Aaron Pierce

DesLey Plaisance

Balaji Ramachandran

Abigail Scherer

J. Bryant Smith

Michelle Thiaville

Keri Turner

J. Jay Udall

Ianna H. West

Robin White

Chadwick H. Young

Kaisa Young

Enmin Zou

Associate Membership

Scott Banville

Christopher P. Bonvillain

Angela Ledet Corbin

Heather C. Gamel

Marla Perez Gomez

Brian Kenneth Heck

Van Ma

J. Patrick Perkins

Susan ‘Michele’ Robichaux

David Schultz

Kurt Stiegler

Michele D. Theriot

Myron C. Tuman

Shana Walton

Cong-Cong Xing

Professional Affiliate Membership

Christopher Green

Bryan Piazza

Paul William Sammarco

College of Business Administration

Regular Membership

Kevin Breaux

Luke Cashen

Ken Chadwick

Michael A. Chaisson

Xiaoyan Chu

Morris Coats

Earl Davis

Ronnie Fanguy

J. Robert Bosworth Field

Krisandra Guidry

Jeff Haynie

John Lajaunie

Shari Lawrence

Xun Li

Marilyn Macik-Frey

En Mao

Shawn Mauldin

William “Bill” Neese

Abdullah Noman

Anushri Rawat

Randy Ryker

Renee “Chuck” Viosca

Associate Membership

Melanie Boudreaux

Laura Coogan

Margaret Diaz-Fugetta

Laura Valenti

Virajanand Varma

College of Education

Regular Membership

Sumita Bhattacharyya

Elizabeth Benchea Block

Carmen D. Broussard

Francis Crochet

Grant Gautreaux

Leslie Jones

Mary L. Junot

Meagan Boyd Medley

Norman D. Norris

Tiffany Galliano Papa

Gary Rosenthal

Rodney D. Soignier

Gregg Stall

Stephen S. Triche

Cynthia B. Vavasseur

Associate Membership

Natalie Boudreaux

Mary Breaud

Michele E. Caruso

Eugene A. Dial Jr.

Jessica Fanguy

Earl Folse

Angelle L. Hebert

Pamela M. Kirkley

Brian Keith Knight

Chris K. Rachal

Kimberly Reynolds

Derek Shanman

Betsy Kieff St. Pierre

Larry Stout

Zoe Tanner

Adjunct Membership

Robin Fanguy Sasser

College of Nursing and Allied Health

Regular Membership

Angelique Allemand

Amanda Eymard

Bridget Guidry

Todd Keller

Travis Lewis

Shirleen Lewis-Trabeaux

Tanya Schreiber

Charlene Smith

Associate Membership

Alison Bergeron

William Carlisle

Rebecca Lyons

Sharon Lynn Mabry

Linda Manfrin-Ledet

Helena Richard

Regular Membership

A Regular Member of the Graduate Faculty is authorized to perform functions appropriate to graduate education. Minimum qualifications for appointment are the highest terminal earned degree or the clear equivalent in the field, the rank of Assistant Professor or higher, avowed interest in graduate instruction, experience in teaching advanced subjects, and evidence of recent scholarly activity. Regular members of the faculty are evaluated for reappointment every five years.

Associate Membership

An Associate Member is appointed for two years to teach specifically designated courses, the content of which lies within the area of specialization of the faculty member. Minimum qualifications for appointment are completion of a master’s degree and possession of unique qualifications for teaching the specialized courses to which the individual would be assigned. An Associate Member is not authorized to serve as major professor for graduate students. Associate Members whose services are required for longer than two years must be resubmitted for approval.

Professional Affiliate Membership

A Professional Affiliate (PA) may be appointed to a renewable two-year term based on evidence of expertise or knowledge that is directly relevant and applicable to the professional program in which the individual will be involved. PAs may engage in instructional activities at the master’s level and may serve as a member of thesis committees but may not normally chair except by permission of the dean of the Graduate School. Expertise is defined in terms of recent activities recognized by the focal area as indicative of excellence. Appropriate indicators may include but are not limited to: terminal degrees in focal or relevant areas; professional certification; licensure, diplomas, or record of professional practice; and demonstrated professional excellence through performances, exhibitions, presentations, professional publications, or national awards. Individuals whose professional activities are a function of their Nicholls employment are ineligible for professional affiliate status.

Adjunct Membership

An Adjunct Member of the graduate faculty is a visiting member of the faculty who meets all criteria for appointment either as a Regular Member or as an Associate Member, but who in not a permanent employee of the University. Appointment as an Adjunct Member is for one semester. Adjunct Members whose services are required for longer than one semester must be re-submitted for approval each semester.

Application for Membership on the Graduate Faculty




Go To ↑ Top