Award Winning Faculty

Dr. Gary LaFleur, associate professor in Biological Sciences, was just awarded the 2012 Nicholls State University Presidential Award for Teaching Excellence.  This award is the highest honor a teacher at Nicholls State Univeristy can receive.

Dr. Ramaraj Boopathy and Dr. Earl Melancon were both recently named Alcee Fortier Distinguished Service Professors, which is the highest award that can be bestowed on a faculty at Nicholls State University.

Newly retired Alex Lasseigne has just been named Professor Emeritus of Biological Sciences.  He will continue to manage the Nicholls Herbarium.