Fletcher Lecture Series


This year’s Fletcher Lecture was novelist Yuri Herrera.

Yuri Herrera, award winning author of Señales que precederán al fin del mundo (Signs Preceding the End of the World) and considered to be a one of the best young Mexican novelists currently writing, will be the Nicholls State University 2018 Fletcher Lecturer.

Yuri Herrera
Yuri Herrera

The presentation will be at 6 p.m. November 8, 2018, in the auditorium of Gouaux Hall on the campus of Nicholls State University. The talk is free and open to the public. Herrera will sign books afterward. Books will be on sale in the lobby outside the auditorium.  There will also be a Question and Answer session at 11 AM in Le Bijou Theater, Student Union.

An Associate Professor—and former Mellon Fellow—at Tulane University, Herrera is one of the most famous/best known writers in Latin America. Herrera’s novel, Trabajos del reino, won the Premio Binacional de Novela Joven 2003 and received the “Otras voces, otros ámbitos” prize for the best novel published in Spain in 2008, and has been translated to English, French, German, Dutch and Italian. His second novel, Señales que precederán al fin del mundo was finalist of the Rómulo Gallegos Prize, has been translated into Italian and is going to be translated into several languages. His latest book is La transmigración de los cuerpos, published in Spain by Periférica.

Herrera received his BA in Political Science at UNAM, his MFA in Creative Writing at the University of Texas at El Paso, and his PhD at the University of California at Berkeley. He has taught literary theory, creative writing and Latin American literature at the Universidad Iberoamericana and at the University of North Carolina-Charlotte. He is currently a Mellon Fellow at Tulane, where he has been studying the discourses surrounding the “war on drugs” in Mexico, about which he has lectured and published several articles.

Herrera has also published a collection of short stories, two children’s novels, and a plethora of journalistic essays.

For 35 years The Fletcher Lecture Series has brought major writers and literary figures to campus to speak and interact with students. Past Lecturers have included such luminaries as Robert Penn Warren, Noel Polk, Lee Smith, Gerald Early, Marianne Robinson, and the filmmaker Behn Zeitlin.


The 2015 Fletcher Lecture was sponsored by the Fletcher Lecture Committee, the Department of Languages & Literature, and the Nicholls State Student Programing Association.

SPA logo







Robert Penn Warren and Eleanor Clark 1985

Andrew Lytle 1986

Cleanth Brooks 1987

Clyde Edgerton, Hamlin Hill, James Cox, and William Bedford Clark 1988

Lewis P. Simpston 1989

Mary Bess Widden, Nancy Walker, and Jane Curry 1990

Donald E. Stanford 1991

Sybil Kein 1992

Ernest J. Gaines 1993

Edgar Bowers 1994

Kevin L. Cope 1995

X. J. Kennedy 1996

Lee Smith 1997

Fred Chappell 1998

Tim Gautreaux 1999

Noel Polk 2000

Timothy Steele 2001

Shelley Fisher Fishkin 2002

Maxine Hong Kingston 2003

Peggy Prenshaw 2004

Ellen Gilchrist 2006

Randall Kenan 2006

Gerald Early 2007

Sam Pickering Spring 2008

Marilynne Robinson Fall 2009

Olympia Vernon 2010

Darrell Bourque 2011

Joseph Boyden 2012

Benh Zeitlin 2013

Mona Lisa Saloy 2014

Ava Leavell Haymon 2015

Nick Spitzer, 2016

Kate Bernheimer, 2017


Paul Prudhomme

Chris Kerageorgiou and Goffredo Fraccaro

John Folse

Alex Patout

Gerard Thabuis

Frank Brigsten

Andrea Apuzzzo

Marcelle Bienvenu

Enola Prudhomme

Greg and Mary Sonnier

Mike Fennelly

Kevin Graham

Leah Chase

Wayne and Debbie Pierce

Hubert Sandot

Terrell Brunet