In addition to the financial aid and scholarships programs available to the general student body, about $17,000 in scholarships and prizes is awarded annually to full-time majors in Mass Communication. Most awards represent the interest on endowment funds totaling almost $375,000.

You can apply for MACO scholarships every semesters by filling out the forms available in the Department of Mass Communication Office at 102 Talbot Hall.



CONGRESSMAN BILLY TAUZIN SCHOLARSHIP of $625 a semester is awarded to a sophomore, junior, or senior in Mass Communication specializing in public relations. Applicants must have at least a 3.0 grade-point average, and a recipient must maintain that average for the scholarship to be renewed. The scholarship was established by the Propane Education and Research Council.

CLAUDIA BONVILLAIN SCHOLARSHIP of $400 a semester is awarded to an outstanding Mass Communication major who can demonstrate an interest in advertising. It was established by the Houma Courier.

COMMUNITY BANK SCHOLARSHIP of $1,000 a semester is awarded to an entering freshman from Louisiana majoring in Mass Communication. The scholarship is renewable as long as the recipient maintains at least a 2.75 grade-point average each semester. The recipient is chosen by the University Scholarship Committee after considering applications from entering freshmen who are graduates of a Louisiana high school.

WALLS SCHOLARSHIPS are awarded to Mass Communication students who are high school graduates from Lafourche, Terrebonne or St. Mary parishes, and who are pursuing courses of study in print journalism or advertising. Second priority is given to students of any parish or state. About seven scholarships of $700 a semester are awarded, and each is renewable if minimum requirements are met.

JOHN B. GORDON MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP is awarded to a full-time student specializing in print journalism. First priority goes to a student planning a newspaper career and who lives in Terrebonne Parish or who is a graduate of a Terrebonne Parish high school. Second priority goes to high school graduates from anywhere. A 2.0 grade-point average is required. The scholarship pays about $300 a year.

COURIER-COMET JOURNALISM SCHOLARSHIP each year goes to a graduate of a public or parochial high school in Terrebonne Parish. The award is based on need, scholarship, and demonstrated interest in print journalism and consists of $400 a semester.

JENNIE & CO. FILM PRODUCTION SCHOLARSHIP is awarded to a minority student in Mass Communication with a concentration in broadcast journalism. It consists of about $150 a year.

NEW YORK TIMES FOUNDATION SCHOLARSHIPS are awarded to deserving minority students in print journalism or advertising. The amount varies depending on interest rates and number of recipients.

BOB BLAZIER BROADCAST SCHOLARSHIP is awarded to a full-time Mass Communication junior or senior in broadcasting who has at least a 2.5 GPA. Applicants must demonstrate the hard-work ethic exhibited by Bob Blazier, a former faculty member.

LOWREY SCHOLARSHIP of about $300 a year is awarded to a Mass Communication major on the basis of need, grade-point average and professional potential.


Awards and Prizes

BONNIE TOUPS WELLS FEATURE WRITING PRIZES of $350 and $150 are given each December by the Wells family of Houma to the Mass Communication students who submit the best feature stories of at least 1,000 words on any aspect of Louisiana French or Cajun culture. Entries must have been published in a newspaper or magazine on or off campus during the year.

ALFRED DELAHAYE AWARD is presented to the outstanding Mass Communication graduate of the academic year. The recipient, chosen by the Mass Communication faculty, receives an engraved plaque and a prize of at least $200.

CLARENCE DOUCET REPORTING AWARD (an engraved plaque and $200) is presented each May to a Mass Communication major. A judge determines the winner on the basis of three stories published on or off campus between April 1 and March 30; an entry consists of one hard-news story, one feature and one story of the entrant’s choice. Doucet was managing editor of the Houma Daily Courier in the 1970s. The award is sponsored by John Gravois, 1980 Mass Communication graduate and government editor of the Forth Worth Star-Telegram.

OUTSTANDING GRADUATING SENIOR IN EACH SPECIALTY. Every spring the faculty in each specialty names the outstanding graduating senior in Broadcast Journalism, Print Journalism and Public Relations.