Faculty and Staff

The Department of Music is committed to its reputation as a center of quality education in the performing arts that meets the multi-cultural needs of the region. Our outstanding faculty members strive to develop an understanding and appreciation for the performing arts among not only music majors but also the general student population.

Dr. Shane Anderson, Head
Associate Professor | Music Theory
245 Talbot Hall
985.448.4601
shane.anderson@nicholls.edu


James Alexander
Lecturer | Violin and viola, string studies
278 Talbot Hall
985.448.7085
james.alexander@nicholls.edu


Taylor Assad
Adjunct | Saxophone, Jazz Band
101 Lindsley Hall
taylor.assad@nicholls.edu


Dr. Michael Bartnik
Assistant Professor | Woodwinds, music literature and history
292 Talbot Hall
985.448.4615
michael.bartnik@nicholls.edu


Dr. Valerie Francis
Associate Professor | Applied voice studies, opera workshop, gospel choir
243 Talbot Hall
985.493.2675
valerie.francis@nicholls.edu


Casey Haynes
Adjunct | Collaborative piano


Dr. Kenneth Klaus
Gloria B. Callais Endowed Professorship in Music | Choirs, applied voice
272 Talbot Hall
985.448.4606
kenneth.klaus@nicholls.edu


Dr. Ivan Koska
Instructor | Class piano, collaborative piano
292 Talbot Hall
985.448.4605
ivan.koska@nicholls.edu


Dr. Jason Ladd
Instructor | Low brass, symphonic band, conducting, music education
270 Talbot Hall
985.448.4616
jason.ladd@nicholls.edu


Dr. Gustavo Miranda
Adjunct | Percussion, Music Appreciation
101 Lindsley Hall
gustavo.miranda@nicholls.edu


Michelle Parro
Staff Accompanist | Collaborative piano
290 Talbot Hall
985.448.4603
michelle.parro@nicholls.edu


Dr. Luciana Soares
Professor | Applied piano, collaborative piano
274 Talbot Hall
985.448.4611
luciana.soares@nicholls.edu


Dr. Matthew Swihart
Instructor | High brass, music technology, music theory
271 Talbot Hall
985.448.4604
matthew.swihart@nicholls.edu