Nicholls announces top grant winners for 2017-2018


THIBODAUX, La — Nicholls State University announced its top grantees for 2017. The leaders in grantsmanship collectively received more than $1.76 million to study topics ranging from the effects of oil spills on the Gulf of Mexico to antibiotic-resistant bacteria in Bayou Lafourche.

“Given the state of higher education in Louisiana, we have to challenge ourselves to find alternate funding for these projects. Our faculty has shown tremendous drive and leadership in landing these prestigious grants for their innovative projects and initiatives,” said Dr. Sue Westbrook, provost and vice president for academic affairs.

The top 10 grant award winners at Nicholls are:

  • Dr. Sean Graham, assistant professor of biological sciences, received $405,336
  • Gina Bergeron, executive director of the Family Service Center, received $342,052
  • Debi Benoit, director of research and sponsored programs, received $257,915
  • Dr. Leslie Jones, dean of the College of Education, received $225,000
  • Tori Rayne, assistant director of the Small Business Development Center, received $167,500
  • Dr. Raj Boopathy, John Brady Sr. & John Brady Jr. Endowed Professor of biological sciences, received $115,361
  • Matthew Gamel, associate professor of math, received $85,000
  • Dr. Chris Bonvillain, assistant professor and graduate program coordinator for biological sciences, received $68,500
  • Dr. Allyse Ferrara, Jerry Ledet Endowed Professor of Environmental Biology, received $54,436
  • Dr. Jonathan Willis, assistant professor of biological sciences, received $41,045


CONTACT: Jacob Batte, Media Relations and Publications Coordinator, 985.448.4141 or