The Office of Admissions is responsible for conducting the University’s student recruitment and admission program. Applications for admission are available only online at www.nicholls.edu/apply via the Banner Self Service system.
Admission requirements for graduate programs appear in the section on GRADUATE STUDIES in this Catalog. No student shall be denied admission to the university because of race, color, age, sex, creed, disability, or national origin.
Falsification of academic records, academic forgery, altering official academic documents, misusing university documents, or withholding information relating to admission, transfer credits, academic status or records may be cause for a student’s dismissal.
A non refundable application fee of $20 for United States citizens and $30 for others will be assessed each person applying for admission or readmission to Nicholls. The check accompanying the application should be made payable to Nicholls State University.
American College Testing Program
The ACT is administered at Nicholls and other designated testing centers five times yearly. Applicants may pick up a registration packet in the Testing Center or Admissions Office or may write to ACT Registration Unit, P.O. Box 414, Iowa City, IA 52243. Students may also register or request ACT scores via the Internet at www.act.org. The University does not accept test applications nor can it forward applications to the ACT Registration Unit. The Scholastic Aptitude Test [SAT] is acceptable. An ACT/SAT Concordance will be used to determine equivalent scores. Specific questions about individual scores should be directed to an academic advisor or the Testing Center.
Nicholls State University requires all students to provide proof of the following vaccines or completed exemption form in accordance with Louisiana Revised Statute 17.170 and under current state law, institutions of higher learning must require proof of immunization for enrollment and are required to maintain a record of immunizations for students:
- TWO (2) doses of measles vaccine; at least
- ONE (1) dose each of rubella and mumps vaccine;
- ONE (1) tetanus-diphtheria booster (AT LEAST 10 YEARS CURRENT);
- TWO (2) doses of meningococcal meningitis vaccine OR one (1) dose, if first dose was given on or after age 16;
- TWO (2) doses of WHO and FDA approved COVID-19 2-dose vaccine or (1) dose of the single-dose vaccination.
Measles requirement: Two (2) doses of live vaccine given at any age, except that the vaccine must have been given on or after the first birthday, in 1968 or later, and without Immune Globulin. A second dose of measles vaccine must meet this same requirement, but should not have been given within 30 days of the first dose. A history of physician-diagnosed measles is acceptable for establishing immunity, but should be accepted with caution unless you were the diagnosing physician.
Tetanus-Diphtheria requirement: A booster dose of vaccine given within the past ten (10) years. Students can be considered to have completed a primary series earlier in life, unless they state otherwise.
Meningitis Requirement: Two (2) doses OR one (1) dose, if first dose was given on or after age 16. If the first dose is administered AFTER age 16, a second dose is NOT required.
Exemption Requirement: If a student requests exemption for medical or personal reasons, the Exemption Request must be obtained from the University Health Services office and signed. An exempted student may be excluded from campus and from classes in the event of an outbreak of measles, mumps, rubella, or meningitis until the outbreak is over or until the student submits proof of immunization.
All students must have on file in the University Health Services Office, a completed Proof of Immunization Form. Blank forms are available in Health Services or on the Internet at www.nicholls.edu/health. The form should be completed and signed by a physician or parish/county health unit.
A student who does not want to earn university credit may enroll for no credit as an auditor. The student must complete an application for admission online via the Internet at www.nicholls.edu/apply. All credentials required for admission must be submitted. No student under suspension from any institution of higher education, for academic deficiencies, or for disciplinary reasons will be permitted to enroll in the University.
Students who audit courses will not receive credit nor will they be permitted to take a credit examination later for audited work. Anyone who wishes to change registration from an audit to a credit basis must make the change by the last date for registration in the semester or session in question. (See University calendar.) Fees for students who audit courses are the same as for those enrolled for credit.
RESIDENT AND NONRESIDENT CLASSIFICATION
Because resident classification is an important part of fee determination, admission regulations and other policies of the System institutions, it is important that System institutions have fair and equitable regulations which can be administered consistently and still respect the interests of both the students and the taxpayers of Louisiana. It is the responsibility of the student to provide System institutions with such evidence as deemed necessary to establish his residence status.
Definition of Residency
Pursuant to House Concurrent Resolution No. 226 of 1986, the following definition of residency shall apply for fee assessment purposes effective the fall semester, 1987:
A resident student for tuition purposes is defined as one who has abandoned all prior domiciles and has been domiciled in the State of Louisiana continuously for at least one full year (365 days) immediately preceding the first day of classes of the term for which resident classification is sought. “Domicile,” as the term is used in the context of residence regulations, is defined as an individual’s true, fixed, and permanent home and place of habitation at which the individual remains when not called elsewhere for labor, studies, or other special or temporary purposes, and the place to which the individual returns after an absence. A nonresident student for tuition purposes is a student not eligible for classification as a resident.
The individual’s physical presence within this state for one year must be associated with the substantial evidence that such presence was with the intent to maintain a Louisiana domicile. Physical presence within the state solely for education purposes without substantial evidence of the intent to remain in Louisiana will not be sufficient for resident classification regardless of the length of time within the state.
However, discreet categories of individuals may be defined as special residents if such action is deemed to be in the best interest of Louisiana and approved by the Board, or as mandated from time to time by federal or state government.
Determination of Status
The residence status shall be determined in accordance with Board rules and shall be based upon evidence provided in the application for admission and related documents. The office of the registrar and/or admissions officer shall determine residence status after the completed application for admission has been submitted. The rules shall be based primarily on the location of the home and the place of employment. Residence status may not be acquired by an applicant or student while residing in Louisiana for the primary purpose of attending school. Residence status, for fee purposes only, will be granted to non-resident graduate students registered for three semester hours or less and undergraduate students registered for six semester hours or less in any session, or all non-resident students enrolled in up to six semester hours of graduate or undergraduate courses offered through web-based or other electronic instruction, when domiciled outside of the state of Louisiana and not enrolled in any other courses at the University. The following conditions may be used in determining residence status:
A. An applicant living with his/her parents is classified as a resident if the parents have established a bona fide residence in Louisiana. Ordinarily a parent is considered to have established a residence in Louisiana if actually residing and employed full time in the State. A parent who is unable to be employed or who is a housewife may be considered to have established a residence in Louisiana if there is convincing evidence that the person continuously resides in Louisiana. If only one parent qualifies as a resident of Louisiana, the student shall be classified as a resident provided that student resides with the parent who is a resident of Louisiana. An individual who resides in Louisiana and is employed full-time in another state, may be classified as a resident. In such case, appropriate documentary evidence shall be presented.
B. A student residing with his/her parents who enrolls as a nonresident shall be classified as a resident if the parents move to Louisiana and acquire residence as defined in these regulations.
C. A student may be declared a resident if either parent is a graduate of the institution that he/she attends. A student that graduates with an associate or higher degree may be classified as a resident for subsequent enrollment at that same institution (applicable only to U.S. citizens). (Revision approved 3/26/99)
D. A person may be classified as a resident of Louisiana at the end of twelve consecutive months of residence if employed in Louisiana and if during that period he/she has not been registered in an educational institution for more than six semester hours or its equivalent in any semester. A person who is unable to be employed and who has not been registered in any educational institution for more than six semester hours or its equivalent in any semester may acquire residence in Louisiana if there is convincing evidence of continuous residence in Louisiana for twelve consecutive months immediately preceding registration.
E. A student who is married to a Louisiana resident may acquire the residence status of his/her spouse.
F. A person who resides in Louisiana for at least two years, exclusive of military service, and then moves to another state or foreign country shall retain the right to enroll, along with any of his/her dependents as a resident for a period equal to the number of years the person resided in Louisiana, but the right shall expire upon the person’s residing for a period of two years in another state or foreign country. For students affected by hurricanes Katrina and Rita, requests for waivers may be considered on a case by case basis until Fall, 2012.
G. Members of the full-time armed forces (not reserve or guard) currently stationed in Louisiana and their dependents shall be classified as Louisiana residents. Those who were stationed in Louisiana immediately prior to release from active duty may enroll themselves or their dependents as residents during a period not to exceed six months after the date of release provided that the term of active duty shall have been no less than 12 consecutive months.
H. A member of the full-time armed forces who was a resident of Louisiana immediately prior to entering the armed forces shall retain the right, along with any of his/her dependents to be classified as a resident as long as he/she is in the armed forces and for a two-year period after leaving the armed forces.
I. A resident of Louisiana shall not lose the right to be classified as a resident during periods of employment in a foreign country. An alien who has been lawfully admitted J. to the United States for permanent residence as an immigrant (proof of such status shall be possession of his Form I-151-Alien Registration Receipt Card or passport officially stamped “approved as resident alien”) and who has established residence under any of the foregoing provisions shall be declared a resident of the State.
A student who is a non-U.S. citizen may be entitled to resident classification if the student has been lawfully admitted to the United States for permanent residence (refugee, person who is married to a U.S. citizen, “temporary” or amnesty alien, etc.). This granting of resident status for fee purposes shall be in accordance with all applicable laws of the U.S. and relative requirements of the System’s Student Residence Regulations.
Students and their dependents (INS approval) present in the United States under terms of any one the following visa classifications:
Visa Category E – Treaty trader or investor
- G – Representative of international organization
- H-1B – Temporary worker in a specialty occupation
- (H-1A and H-4 may also apply to qualify for exemption.)
- I – Foreign information media representative
- K – Fiance (Residency approved with proof of marriage to U.S. citizen.).
- L – Intra-company transferee/foreign employer who demonstrate a Louisiana domicile for at least one full year (and meet System regulations) prior to the first day of class of the beginning of the semester will be eligible for an exemption of the non-resident fees while holding such a visa.
Visa Category A – Government officials will be immediately eligible for an exemption of the non-resident fees while holding such a visa.
Visa Category B – Visitor for business/pleasure
- C – In transit
- D – Crewman
- F – Academic student
- H – Temporary worker
- J – Exchange visitor
- M – Vocational/ non- academic student are not eligible to establish Louisiana domicile nor be exempted from nonresident fees unless otherwise permitted by law, by System policy, or other regulations.
It is to be noted that the domicile of a dependent or an unmarried minor is regarded to be that of the parent with whom such a dependent or minor maintains his/her place of abode.
The president of each institution shall be authorized to appoint a Residence Rules Appeal Committee. Any student classified as a nonresident may appeal his classification to this committee. Interpretations on residence qualifications may be submitted to Board Staff for clarification.
All students classified incorrectly as residents are subject to reclassification and payment of all non-resident fees not paid. If incorrect classification results from false or concealed facts by the student, the student is also subject to university discipline.
Waiver of Undergraduate Out-of-State Tuition
The Board of Supervisors for the University of Louisiana System has authorized exemptions of out of state tuition for certain non residents of high ability. For more information about such waivers, contact the Office of Admissions.
The application deadline for all regular terms (Fall, Summer, and Spring) for students not classified as International students shall be two business days prior to the start of classes as indicated by the University Calendar.
ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS BY CLASSIFICATION
Students under the age of 25 who have never attended any college (or other postsecondary institution) must satisfy the minimum admission standards for freshmen described below. This includes students enrolled in a fall term who attended college for the first time in the prior summer.
(a) Louisiana high school graduates must meet all of the following:
- Completion of the Regents’ Core4 Curriculum (19 units), beginning with the class of 2012;
- Have a minimum overall high school grade-point average of 2.0;
- Have at least a 21 ACT composite score, 1060 SAT composite score, OR a minimum overall high school grade-point average of 2.35/4.0; and
- Have no need for a developmental English or math course.
(b) Out-of-state high schools, home school, or non-State approved high school graduates must meet one of the following:
- Meet the same criteria as students who graduated from a Louisiana high school as listed above; or
- Have at least a 23 ACT composite score or 1130 SAT composite score and have no need for a developmental English or math course; or
- Meet the minimum core GPA on at least 17 units of the required HS Core 4 Curriculum, with at least a 21 ACT composite score or 1060 SAT composite score and a minimum overall high school GPA of 2.35/4.0.
(c) All students are encouraged to apply even if they do not meet all requirements. Such applications will be reviewed on an individual basis, and an admissions decision will be made considering each applicant’s potential for success and will include factors such as ACT scores, SAT scores, special talents, and the University’s commitment to a demographically diverse student population.
(d) Students who receive a GED or graduate from a Non-Accredited Home School Program and who are under the age of 25 must submit ACT or SAT scores. A minimum 23 ACT composite score or 1130 SAT composite score, along with no need for remedial coursework, is required for admission.
(e) Nicholls does not discriminate against students who do not have social security numbers. The admissions requirements are the same as those of US citizens who graduate from Louisiana high schools.
(f) Students aged 25 or older who have never attended college are classified as adult learners. Before being admitted to the University, the student must provide ACT scores, SAT scores, or take the ACCUPLACER test, and provide a copy of a high school transcript or GED. To determine the age of the applicant for admissions purposes, we subtract a student’s birth year from the calendar year in which the student begins taking courses. (For example, the equation for a student who was born in 1981 and began coursework in the fall of 2011 is as follows: 2011-1981=30).
To determine their placement, adult learners are eligible to take the ACT test, ACCUPLACER test, ALEKS PPL, or Directed Self-Placement. The ACCUPLACER test provides placement in English and mathematics.
Students (in-state and out-of-state) desiring to transfer to Nicholls State University must have earned an associate’s degree or higher or must meet the following minimum admissions criteria:
- Earned a minimum of 18 college-level hours;
- Earned a minimum grade-point average of 2.0 on college-level courses; and
- Completed college-level English and mathematics courses designed to fulfill general education requirements.*
*A course to fulfill general education requirements is defined as any course that would meet general education requirements as defined in Louisiana Board of Regents’ Academic Affairs Policy 2.16, whether or not degree applicable, and is at minimum a 100-level course as defined at the institution to which the student is transferring.
Students must be eligible to return to the institution from which they are transferring. Students desiring to transfer with the minimum grade-point average on college-level courses, but less than the minimum college-level hours earned, must also meet the freshman admissions criteria in order to be admitted as transfer students.
Nicholls State University may admit students who do not meet all stated admissions requirements in accordance with the Board of Regents Master Plan. The University may set aside a limited number of exceptions of the entering transfer class. Admissions decisions will be made considering each applicant’s potential for success and will include factors such as special talents and the University’s commitment to a demographically diverse student population.
Acceptance of transfer credit is limited to academic and vocational/technical credit earned at regionally accredited institutions in the United States or through the appropriate accrediting agency for institutions of higher education abroad. Students may petition the Office of Records and Registration for a comprehensive review of transfer courses and instructor credentials to determine transferability from non-accredited institutions. International coursework identified as undergraduate from a transferable associate degree (associate of arts or associate of science), baccalaureate degree, or equivalent semester credit toward an undergraduate degree in the United States will be reviewed for acceptance of transfer credit. The University reserves the right to deny credit where such indicators are not present or to require the student to prove competency by some other means.
An applicant for admission who has been enrolled in other institutions of higher learning must have a complete and official transcript from each college or university attended, whether or not credit was earned, sent to the Office of Admissions by the registrar of the institutions previously attended.
Any student entering the University from a community, junior college, or a junior division is limited in the amount of transfer credit which may be applied toward the baccalaureate degree program, and the approval of the academic Dean is required.
Students who have previously attended Nicholls State University simply need to reapply for admission. They must submit any transcripts from other universities attended since they were last enrolled at Nicholls. They must also be eligible to return to any of those other universities.
International Students as First-time Freshmen
Students who have graduated from a non-U.S. high school must meet the following criteria and submit the documents listed beneath the chart:
|Effective Term||Minimum TOEFL*||ACT Required||#Developmental courses|
|2017||61 Internet||Minimum 18 English AND 19 Math||Student may require NO development course|
- Summary of Educational Background by Years Form
- Official Secondary School Transcripts with Official English Translation
- Must have completed a program of study that would recommend them for admission to a university in their home country.
3. Affidavit of Support of Financial Statement
4. Immunization Form
5. Online Housing Application and deposit
6. ACT/SAT Scores
*NOTE: TOEFL shall be waived for native language English speaking countries.
Transfer Students from a Foreign College or University
For students transferring from a foreign college or university, the student must submit the documents listed beneath the chart:
|Effective Term||Minimum # of college level academic hours||Minimum GPA on college level academic courses||Minimum TOEFL||Other Criteria||Tests
|Effective 2016||18 non-developmental transfer hours||2.0||61 or Grad 79||Must have completed college-level Mathematics course designed to fulfill general education requirements and demonstrate eligibility for English 101*||MATH – 530
Reading/Writing Lang – 25
- Summary of Education Background by Years Form
- Official Certification of Degree Earned with Official English Translation
- Affidavit of Support and Financial Statement
- Immunization Form
- Online Housing Application and deposit
- Official transcripts and course descriptions from previous university with work in original language
- Official English language translation of transcripts and course descriptions from previous university coursework
- Course-by-course Credential Evaluation
*A course to fulfill general education requirements is defined as any course that would meet general education requirements as defined in Louisiana Board of Regents Academic Affairs Policy 2.16, whether or not degree applicable, and is at minimum a 100-level course as defined at the institution to which the student is transferring.
To be admitted to Nicholls as a graduate student, applicants must
- hold a baccalaureate or graduate degree from a regionally accredited college or university,
- provide official transcripts showing all previous undergraduate and graduate work attempted (whether or not credit was earned),
- submit a formal application to the Office of Admissions at least 30 days in advance of registration,
- have a grade-point average of at least 2.50 on all undergraduate work, or 2.75 on the last 60 hours,
- attain the minimum combined GPA/GRE or GPA/GMAT score required for the specified degree program, or is eligible for a waiver, and
- meet all other admission requirements of the particular degree program.
Applicants who meet all criteria for admission except grade-point average requirements may be admitted on academic probation. Prospective students with a grade-point average of at least 2.0 on all undergraduate work attempted or 2.5 on the final 60 hours attempted may petition their academic Dean for admission on probation. The petition may be approved provided the applicant presents the minimum GRE or GMAT scores and any other evidence requested by the Dean to indicate the application’s potential for success at the graduate level.
Pre-program student status:
Applicants may be admitted as pre-program students if they wish to pursue a graduate degree but have not met all of the requirements for admission to a graduate program (for example: no GRE score, insufficient GMAT score or no teaching certificate). See Admission as a Non-Degree or Pre-Program Student.
The Nicholls State University Dual Enrollment Program gives high school students the opportunity to earn college credit while still enrolled in high school. To be eligible to participate in Dual Enrollment, students must:
- be at least 15 years of age by the start of the semester of enrollment;
- be enrolled in grades 11 or 12;
- have ACT or SAT scores. ACT or SAT scores will be used for admission and placement. Only students who have not taken ACT or SAT after ninth grade may use ASPIRE, MAP, Pre-ACT, Pre-SAT, or EOC scores.
- have a minimum ACT composite score of 19 or SAT total score of 1010. (For students without ACT/SAT scores: ASPIRE composite score of 430, MAP language + math score of 490, Pre-ACT composite score of 19, or Pre-SAT total score of 1010.)
- have a minimum ACT English score of 18, SAT ERW score of 500, or ACCUPLACER writing score of 250. (For students without ACT/SAT scores: ASPIRE English score of 433, MAP language score of 245, Pre-ACT English score of 18, Pre-SAT ERW score of 500, EOC English II score of 740, or LEAP 2025 English II mastery or above.)
- have a minimum ACT math score of 19, SAT math score of 510, or ACCUPLACER QRAS score of 250. (For students without ACT/SAT scores: ASPIRE math score of 431, MAP math score of 265, Pre-ACT math score of 19, Pre-SAT math score of 510, EOC Algebra I score of 760, EOC geometry score of 750, or LEAP 2025 geometry mastery or above.)
- have a minimum high school GPA of 2.5.
Former students not enrolled at Nicholls in the preceding semester must submit an application for readmission. If a student has enrolled in any institution of higher learning including a summer session, after attending Nicholls, the student must have a complete and official transcript from each college or university attended, whether or not credit was earned, sent to the Office of Admissions by the registrar of the institutions previously attended. Nicholls students who attend only the summer session at another institution must furnish an official transcript to the Office of Admissions prior to the next registration period.
Visitor status exists for students who enroll without formal credentials and who are not seeking an undergraduate or graduate degree. Credit earned under this registration may not automatically be used toward any graduate degree. Graduate students should refer to the GRADUATE STUDIES section in this Catalog. While enrolled under visitor status, a student may earn credit for college-level courses and an official transcript of these credits will be available upon written request. Whether any credit earned under visitor status can apply toward an undergraduate degree will be determined after the student files a degree seeking application, submits formal credentials, and meets all requirements for regular admission.
Senior Citizens Program
Eligibility requirements for application under the Board of Supervisors for the University of Louisiana System Senior Citizens Program are a high school diploma or the equivalent and participants must be 60 years of age or older. Only the completed application form with fee and proof of age are required to be submitted. Senior citizens are exempt from registration fees and tuition fees for up to three hours but must pay the technology fee and course specific fees (e.g. laboratory fees). Normal tuition and fee charges will be required of those enrolling for more than three credit hours.
Veterans and Veterans’ Dependents
Those eligible for educational assistance as veterans, veterans’ dependents or reservists should apply for the educational benefits with the Department of Veterans Affairs online at www.benefits.va.gov/gibill, by completing the application in the Office of Nicholls State Veteran Services located in Shaver Gymnasium, or at any parish’s Department of Veterans Affairs Offices. Applications for veterans and reservists can be mailed to the Department of Veterans Affairs, VA Regional Office, PO Box 8888, Muskogee OK 74402-8888 and veterans’ dependents applications can be mailed to the VA Regional Office, 671 Whitney Ave., Gretna LA 70053. Certificates of eligibility should be presented to the University Veterans’ Liaison Counselor in the Records and Registration Office. Those applying for VA educational benefits who want to be certified must complete a Student Request Form for VA Benefits in the Office of Nicholls State Veteran Services or online at www.nicholls.edu/veterans/files/2012/02/New-VA-request-form022012.pdf. For additional information contact the Coordinator of Veteran Services in the Shaver Gymnasium. After the request is completed, the certification of enrollment is mailed or electronically transmitted to the VA office. For additional information regarding VA educational benefits, call a counselor in the regional office in New Orleans at 1-800-827-1000 or the regional office in Muskogee at 1-888-442-4551.
NEW STUDENT ORIENTATION
Orientation programs for new students are conducted prior to each semester, including the summer session. The orientation program is designed to acquaint each new student with the university campus, academic programs, and support services. New students receive academic advising and complete registration for classes during orientation. To attend an orientation program the new student must have been admitted to Nicholls State University, prior to the day of the program. All first-time freshmen and transfer freshmen working toward a degree are expected to attend a New Student Orientation session. Students will receive information about their specific orientation program after filing an application for admission. Each student is charged a non‑refundable $100 fee for orientation.