Nicholls State University

Louisiana Center for Women
in Government and Business

Welcome to LCWGB

For the most up to date information visit

Anne Beiler at LGLA 2015

Mission Statement

The Louisiana Center for Women in Government and Business (LCWGB) strives to promote women’s leadership in government, public service and business; cultivate economic opportunities for women; acknowledge and support the achievements of women; and educate all citizens about the importance of public service, responsible citizenship, and public policy education.

Louisiana Girls Leadership Academy

Louisiana Leadership Organization

Founded in 1990, the Louisiana Center for Women in Government and Business (LCWGB) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan leadership organization dedicated to empowering women and promoting female involvement. The Center, housed at Nicholls State University, is governed by a board of highly accomplished women from all over Louisiana who are passionate about using their personal talents and strengths to empower and embolden other women.

For more than 20 years, the LCWGB has been promoting female leadership in government and business through a variety of non-partisan outreach and educational programs for women. The Center’s statewide leadership programming includes Louisiana Girls Leadership Academy, National Women’s Leadership Summit on Small Business Entrepreneurship, Non-Partisan Campaign Institute, Congress to Campus and Hall of Fame Ceremony. The LCWGB also partners with other organizations in support of its programs.

Louisiana Girls Leadership Academy

– Dates TBA

– For girls entering 9th-12th grades

– @ Nicholls State University


Sunday, Feb 9 – Wednesday, Feb 12, 2020

Working with the United States Association of Former Members of Congress (FMC), the LCWGB and the Lafourche Commission on Women are bringing together a bipartisan pair of former Congressmen with the students of Nicholls State University and Lafourche Schools, as well as parents, civic leaders, political leaders, and veterans.


Phone: 985-448-4770

From Dr. Laura Badeaux to Faculty in Business, Maritime Program, Government, Communications, Petroleum Services and Education:

“Congress to Campus” is coming to Nicholls State University February 9, 10,11, 12, 2020, to speak to students whose education may enable them to aspire to public service. Hosted by the Louisiana Center for Women in Government and Business (LCWGB) housed at NSU, the program sends bi-partisan Congressmen from the National Association of Former Members of Congress.

Former Republican Congressman Dan Miller from Florida and Former Democratic Congressman Peter Kostmayer from Pennsylvania, will be NSU’s guests. Your course in the spring, such as 3M Public Affairs Reporting, appears to be one from whom we think the students will benefit and through whom we think Louisiana and America may benefit if public service becomes a focus of our students in the future.

In addition, a reception with the Congressmen, President Jay Clune, Lafourche and Terrebonne officials, and community leaders will be held at the home of Chip and Laura Badeaux, Sunday, February 9, 2020, 6 until 8 PM, so that you may meet the Congressmen in advance of your academic interaction.



2017 Featured Speakers

Craig Scott, Columbine Hero

Simone Bruni Couere, Demolition Diva

Steve Morgan, Motivational Speaker


California Comedians

Bear Badeaux 

Crystal Rivers 

Collin Turner

Graham Patrick Martin


American Idol Contestant

Cameron Richard


 Louisiana State Officials

Governor John Bel Edwards (invited)

Lt Governor Billy Nungesser  

Chief Judge, Court of Appeals, Vanessa Whipple Louisiana

Director, Health and Hospitals, Dr. Rebekah Gee

First Women U.S. Marshal, Genny May

Creator First La. Dept. of Culture, Recreation & Tourism, Sandra Thompson Herman

Lafourche Parish President, Jimmy Cantrelle

Lafourche Parish Councilman, Daniel Lorraine

Lafourche Parish Councilwoman, Luci Sposito


 Corporate VIPs

Executive Director, Port of South Louisiana, Paul Aucoin Director of

Governmental Relations, Chevron, Felicia Frederick


LGLA Organizers

Executive Director, La. for Women in Government and Business, Dr. Laura Badeaux

Chair, La. Girls Leadership Academy, Brandie M. Toups 

Lafourche Commission on Women, Planner, Dawn Chadwick

Lafourche Commission on Women, Planner, Christie Pate

Lafourche Commission on Women, Planner, Eva Shanklin

Lafourche Commission on Women, Planner, Donnell Zeringue


Nicholls State University Administration

President, Dr. Bruce Murphy

Vice President for Academic Affairs, Dr. Lynn Gillette

Vice President for Advancement, Dr. Neal Weaver

Vice President for Student Affairs, Dr. Eugene Dial

Vice President for Business Affairs, Terry Braud

2016 Girls Leadership Academy
“Shaping the Lives of Louisiana’s Future Leaders”


The Louisiana Center for Women in Government and Business, in partnership with the Lafourche Commission on Women, was proud to host the 2016 Louisiana Girls Leadership Academy this summer at Nicholls State University. As the new academic year begins, these Academy graduates have returned to their schools, putting their enhanced communications and leadership skills to good use.

Thank you, First Lady Donna Edwards!
Governor’s Mansion Tour and Luncheon


Louisiana Center for Women in Government and Business

Office Location:
129 Ellender Memorial Library
Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 2062
Thibodaux, LA 70310
Phone: 985-448-4770
Fax: 985-448-4771