Four Inducted into Kappa Tau Alpha


Nicholls State University’s Department of Mass Communication inducted four members into its chapter of Kappa Tau Alpha, a journalism and mass communication honor society founded in 1910 at the University of Missouri. Programs must undergo a departmental program review before a campus chapter is approved. There are fewer than 100 chapters nationally. From left are Dr. James Stewart, department head and KTA adviser; Alaina Maiorana, a senior from Houma; Bryce Whittington, a junior from Raceland; Hannah Robert, a junior from Chauvin; and Trevor Tabor, a senior from Gray.

Mass Communication senior Trevor Tabor of Grey (pictured below) was named as Mr. Nicholls Feb 24. Trevor was nominated by his professors for his outstanding academic performance. Since Trevor was nominated in the academia category for Mr. Nicholls, he was scored for his classroom performance and academic co-curricular activities. Trevor has been on the President’s list; is in Kappa Tau Alpha Honor Society; is in the University Honors Program; is in Phi Eta Sigma National Honor Society; and is in Alpha Lambda Delta National Honor Society. He received the Nicholls Academic Scholarship, Nicholls Academic Honor Scholarship, Carmage Walls Scholarship for Mass Communication, the Tops Performance Award and has had numerous other academic honors. Trevor published a graphic this spring in “Insights,” a national publication of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication. He was presented as Mr. Nicholls at Colonel Gras, an event he planned as entertainment director for SPA. Trevor also works in the office of Student Affairs and is a board member, student liaison for the Nicholls Alumni Federation.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Share on print