The Office of Research and Sponsored Programs (ORSP) at Nicholls State University promotes and facilitates research and scholarly activities by assisting faculty and administrative staff in locating and securing external funding and moreover encourages the inclusion of undergraduate and graduate students in grant projects.


ORSP provides a central source of information on major governmental agencies, foundations and corporations that support research as well as pedagogical and creative activities. ORSP provides assistance with the conceptual development and planning of proposals. More specifically, the office assists in identifying potential extramural funding sources, developing proposal budgets and narratives, completing standardized application forms, assuring compliance with applicable federal and state regulations and negotiating grant awards and contracts. If you have questions about grants or the information on this Web site, please contact one of our staff members. Debi Benoit Director, Office of Research and Sponsored Programs


Research like education, is central to the University’s mission. Similar to our extraordinary effort to move classes online, we are taking dramatic steps to respond to this public health crisis (COVID-19) while continuing our research mission.  The “Guidance for Active Research Efforts” document details all aspects of research from submission of proposals to the implementation of the work.

The Office of Research and Sponsored Programs is very pleased to announce the 2019-2020 Louisiana Board of Regents Grant Awards results.

CONGRATULATIONS TODr. Timoth Clay (Biological Sciences), Dr. Uttam Pokharel (Chemistry and Physical Sciences), and Dr. Enmin Zou (Biological Sciences).

Dr. Clay was awarded $149,681 for his project, “Population Demographics of Diamondback Terrapins and the Influence of the Blue Crab Fishery in Coastal Louisiana.” Sixteen departmental–comprehensive proposals were submitted with his proposal ranking #26 out of 31 proposals selected highly recommended for funding.

Dr. Pokharel was awarded $5,000 for his SURE project, “Understanding the Mechanism of Cyclization of Ferrocenyl Keto-carboxylic Acids.”

Dr. Zou was awarded $5,000 for his SURE project, “Does the Presence of the Heavy Metal Cadmium Affect the Strength of a Biological Concrete, the Crab Shell?”

New BoR RFPs are available at Regents Web site

View available eligible disciplines and RFP Release Memo FY21

To view the 2019-20 Louisiana Board of Regents proposals submitted by Nicholls’ faculty and staff, 2019-2020 Board of Regents Submissions click here.

The Louisiana Board of Regents held an on-campus meeting on June 8, 2017 to discuss the restructuring of the Board of Regents Support Fund (BoRSF) that has significant implications for funding opportunities in future cycles. View the meeting here: 2017 Board of Regents meeting at Nicholls State University

Dr. Matthew Marlow, Assistant Professor in Physical Sciences, is the Institutional Coordinator for LaSPACE.  For assistance with LaSPACE proposals contact Dr. Marlow at ext. 4576.

Upcoming Events

Scholars Expeaux 2020 – Join us on March 18-20 to learn more about the research being conducted by Nicholls’ faculty and students.

Academic Summit 2020 – Nineth Annual Academic Summit – April 2-3, 2020 on the campus of Northwestern State University.

Student Technology Fee Proposals for 2020-2021 are due by 2:00 P.M. on Friday, October 2, 2020. Click Here, to view the Guide Sheet to Utilizing the Technology Fee and Explanation of Scoring for 20-21. Click here for a sample of the Routing Memo for Proposals.

 NSF Grant Application Webinar

One of the most comprehensive grant-writing tools available today.”

  • NSF Innovation Corps: Crafting A Successful 5-Page Proposal
  • How to Produce a Winning NSF SBIR Phase I and Phase II Proposal
  • Early-concept Grants for Exploratory Research (EAGER) at NSF
  • Data Management Plans for Successful NIH and NSF Grants

Available Upon Request

 IEEE PCS Professional Engineering Communication Series

A Scientific Approach to Writing for Engineers and Scientists

  • Robert E. Berger, 2014
  • This publication offers a unique perspective on how to build sentences, paragraphs, and longer pieces and apply them to common writing issues. The tools offered through this publication can be used to strengthen writing skills in regards to grant writing as well as any professional writing.

Available Upon Request

The Office of Research and Sponsored Programs is pleased to announce the 2019-2020 Top Ten Grantsmanship Awards. Pictured below are: Ms. Amelie Zeringue, Assistant Professor of the Chef John Folse Culinary Institute; Dr. Marilyn Macik-Frey, Dean of the College of Business Administration and Professor of Management; Dr. Jonathan Willis, Assistant Professor of Biological Sciences;  Dr. Ramaraj Boopathy, Distinguished Service Professor of Biological Sciences; Dr. Balaji Ramachandran, Associate Professor of Applied Sciences; Dr. Heather Gamel, Assistant Professor of Mathematics; Ms. Debi Benoit, Director of Research and Sponsored Programs; and Dr. Velma “Sue” Westbrook, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs. Not pictured are Ms. Gina Bergeron, Regional Infant and Early Childhood Mental Health Supervisor for the Family Service Center; Dr. Allyse Ferrara, Professor of Biological Sciences; and Dr. Quenton Fontenot, Head and Professor of Biological Sciences. CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL!