Nicholls Apple Awards recognize service outside classroom

THIBODAUX – The Nicholls State University Division of Student Affairs honored outstanding faculty service to students at the first faculty meeting of the fall 2012 semester, held Thursday, Aug. 16.

The annual Apple Awards program recognizes the role of Nicholls faculty members with students outside the classroom in such areas as recruiting and mentoring students, advising student organizations, supporting student activities and helping to shape the careers of students.

Pictured from left are Dr. Allayne “Laynie” Barrilleaux, vice president for academic affairs; Kimberly Dozar, assistant professor of nursing; and Dr. Stephen Hulbert, university president.

Kimberly Dozar, assistant professor of nursing, was named outstanding faculty adviser of a student organization. The award recognizes a faculty member who has given the most effective guidance to a campus group – in Dozar’s case, the Nicholls Association of Student Nurses.

Pictured from left are Barrilleaux, Boobathy and Hulbert.

Dr. Ramaraj Boobathy, Alcee Fortier distinguished service professor of biological sciences, received the Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award. The honor is given to the faculty member who has contributed most to the development of students and encouraged them to pursue education in the face of hardship.

Pictured from left are Barrilleaux, Eymard and Hulbert.

The Outstanding Faculty Merit Award was presented to Dr. Amanda Eymard, assistant professor of nursing. The award recognizes faculty support of students, student activities and the mission and goals of the Division of Student Affairs.

Pictured from left are Barrilleaux, Ramachandran and Hulbert.

Dr. Balaji Ramachandran, head of the Department of Applied Sciences and Contractors Educational Trust Fund endowed professor, received the outstanding faculty support for student activities award. This award is given to a faculty member who regularly attends student performances, athletics events, honor-awards ceremonies and Greek activities; who donates time, materials or funds to support student activities; and who demonstrates other visible support for students.

Pictured from left are Barrilleaux, Cashen and Hulbert.

An award is also given each year to the faculty member who was most often cited by graduates for playing an important role in shaping and nurturing their careers. Dr. Luke Cashen, director of graduate programs for the College of Business Administration and associate professor of management, received the fall 2012 award.

Recipients of the annual Apple Awards are nominated by students, faculty and staff and determined by a selection committee of student affairs staff, two students and an academic dean. The award for contributing to the success of graduates is determined by surveys sent to all graduating seniors.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • RSS