Mayo to be inducted to hall of fame

THIBODAUX – The Louisiana Center for Women and Government, headquartered at Nicholls State University, will honor Phyllis Mayo of Baton Rouge for her outstanding public service on Saturday, March 28, at a luncheon at the New Orleans Hilton Riverside.

Phyllis MayoA Louisiana resident since the late 1960s and the first woman elected to the Alexandria City Council, Mayo served on the state central and executive committees of the Louisiana Democratic Party. During the 1990s she was named to the board of directors for Utility Communicators International and later chaired the statewide Task Force on Retirement Development. More recently, she served as special assistant to the governor on women’s policy, organizing the first Gathering of Louisiana Women Leaders.

The hall of fame ceremony will also feature the induction of Rosemary Ewing of Quitman; Anne Milling of New Orleans; and LilyB Moskal of Lafayette. The center’s Blue Ribbon Award will be presented to Cherry Fisher May, publisher, Independent Publishing Group, and the Lifetime Achievement Award will go to Mildred Fossier, the first female director serving the City of New Orleans and political activist.

National political consultants and New Orleans residents Mary Matalin and James Carville are scheduled as keynote speakers.

Tickets to the awards ceremony are $50 each and include a coffee and cash bar at 10:30 a.m., followed by the noon luncheon and awards ceremony. For reservations, contact the center at (985) 448-4770.

The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.