Nicholls breaks spring commencement record

THIBODAUX – Nicholls State University held commencement exercises Saturday, May 14, awarding 581 degrees to students who completed coursework during the spring semester.

It was the largest spring commencement in university history – surpassing the record-breaking number of degrees awarded in spring 2010 by 16.

The degrees awarded Saturday were conferred and presented by Dr. Stephen T. Hulbert, university president. Jay Dardenne, who was elected lieutenant governor of Louisiana in November 2010 with 57 percent of the vote, delivered the keynote address.

Graduates are listed via downloadable spreadhseet by degree and parish, or out-of-state city of record, with academic honors in baccalaureate curricula included. Summa cum laude indicates the student earned a cumulative grade point average of 3.9 or higher. Magna cum laude graduates, those with a GPA of 3.7 to 3.899, and cum laude honorees, those earning a GPA between 3.5 and 3.699, are also designated.

Five baccalaureate graduates earned the President’s Medal of Honor, which recognizes a perfect 4.000 grade point average. They include Katie I. Landry, communicative disorders major from Pierre Part; Kristen N. Robichaux, instrumental music certification major from Thibodaux; Michelle A. Felterman, marine biology major from Patterson; Derrick W. Lirette, art major from Chauvin; and Cindy S. Soto, pre-medical/pre-dental major from Independence, Mo.

Summa cum laude graduates are pictured below.


Pictured from left at bottom are Dr. Stephen Hulbert, university president; summa cum laude graduates Michelle A. Felterman, Cindy S. Soto and Kyle F. Champagne; and Dr. Badiollah R. Asrabadi, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences. Pictured from left at top are summa cum laude graduates Derrick W. Lirette, Kimberly A. Robichaux and Stephanie M. Graebert.


Pictured from left at bottom are Hulbert; summa cum laude graduates Ashley A. Santiny, Cheri E. Barbier and Lori A. Hutchinson; and Dr. J. Steven Welsh, dean of the College of Education. Pictured from left at top are summa cum laude graduates Amy L. Spencer, Hollie L. Barrios and Kristen N. Robichaux.


Pictured from left are Hulbert; summa cum laude graduates Katie I. Landry and Alexandra N. Champagne; and Dr. Sue Westbrook, dean of the College of Nursing and Allied Health.


Pictured from left are Hulbert; summa cum laude graduate Huong-Tra T. Nguyen; and Dr. Shawn Mauldin, dean of the College of Business Administration. Not pictured is summa cum laude graduate Florina Nosca.


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Share on print