Nicholls announces top grantees for 2016

Top Ten Grantsman Group 2017
(Misty Leigh McElroy/Nicholls State University)

THIBODAUX, La — Nicholls State University announced its top grantees for 2016. The leaders in grantsmanship collectively received more than $1.7 million to study topics such as accelerating recovery from the Deepwater Horizon oil spill to creating the Bayou Educational Opportunity Center on campus.

The top 10 grant award winners at Nicholls are: Gina Bergeron, executive director of the Family Service Center, received more than $358,000; Debi Benoit, director of research and sponsored programs, received nearly $263,000; Dr. Sean Graham, assistant professor of biology, received nearly $237,000; Dr. DesLey Plaisance, director of graduate studies, received more than $183,000; Tori Rayne, director of the Louisiana Small Business Development Center, received $177,500; Dr. Ramaraj Boopathy, distinguished service professor of biological sciences, received nearly $143,000; Dr. Quenton Fontenot, professor of biology, received more than $106,000; Dr. Enmin Zou, department head of biology, received more than $88,400; Dr. Aaron Pierce, assistant professor of biology, received $77,100; and Dr. Shane Anderson, department head of music, received more than $72,000.