Chef John Folse Culinary Institute students take home top Louisiana Restaurant Association award, 11 other scholarships

Evan Landry (Misty Leigh McElroy/Nicholls State University)

THIBODAUX, La. — Chef John Folse Culinary Institute student Evan Landry has continued a recent tradition of Nicholls State University culinary students in taking home the Louisiana Restaurant Association’s top prize, the Jim Funk Scholarship, worth approximately $3,500.

Landry is a graduate of Denham Springs High School and is a third-year recipient of an LRAEF Scholarship award.

The Jim Funk Scholarship is named after the former LRA President & CEO who created the educational foundation during his 30 years with the organization.

Moreover, the Louisiana Restaurant Association Education Foundation Scholarship Fund in 2018 awarded $48,000 over 19 ProStart and LRA Board scholarships, and current and future Chef John Folse Culinary Institute students earned 11 of those scholarships.

The recipients were honored Monday night at an LRAEF event “Serving the Future — Celebrating Careers in Hospitality” at Generations Hall in New Orleans. The scholarships range from about $2,000 to $2,400.

“The Louisiana Restaurant Association has been a wonderful partner to the Chef John Folse Culinary Institute, our students and future students,” said Chef John Kozar, the program’s department head. “Scholarships like this can make a big difference to students, as it enables them to spend more time focusing on learning and creativity rather than money.”

The ProStart Scholarship is presented to students who have or will receive the National ProStart Certificate of Achievement. This year’s current or future Nicholls recipients are: Sara Baiamonte, attending Hammond High Magnet School; Janesa Buras, attending Fontainebleau High School; Blane Coley, attending West Feliciana High School; Jenna Duryea, graduate of Lakeshore High School, is a third-year recipient; Claire LeBlanc, graduate of Fontainebleau High School, is a second-year recipient; and Brock Nichols, attending Sulphur High School.

The LRA Board Fund Scholarship is presented to students who intend to pursue a career in the restaurant, food service, tourism or hospitality industry. The fund is supported through an annual donation by the LRA Board of Directors. Current or future Nicholls students receiving the scholarship are: Dustin Rockwell, graduate of Slidell High School; Madison Segura, attending New Iberia Senior High School; Daniel St. Etienne, attending Brother Martin High School/New Orleans Center for Creative Arts; and Kiersten Wegmann, graduate of Chalmette High School, a third-year recipient.


CONTACT: Jacob Batte, Media Relations and Publications Coordinator, 985.448.4141 or

The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.