LaFleur receives Nicholls Presidential Award for Teaching Excellence

Dr. Gary LaFleur, associate professor of biological sciences and assistant dean of the College of Arts and Sciences at Nicholls State University, was awarded the Presidential Award for Teaching Excellence – the highest honor a Nicholls teacher can receive – at the first faculty meeting of the fall 2012 semester, held Thursday, Aug 16.

The award was established in 1994 to recognize those individuals who have consistently demonstrated principles of sound, effective teaching. Each year the university president awards a certificate of recognition, and the Nicholls Alumni Federation presents a one-time, $1,000 cash award to the recipient. An annual salary increase of the same amount begins the following year. Pictured from left are Dr. Stephen Hulbert, university president; Deborah Raziano, director of alumni affairs; LaFleur; and Stephen Peltier, alumni federation president.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Share on print