Internal Grants

Research Council Grants

The NSU Research Council disseminates available grant monies to Nicholls faculty for research and teaching/learning projects in all disciplines. Funds for research are to be viewed as “seed money” to undertake worthy projects that will lead to larger projects, external funding, publications, performances, exhibitions or presentations. Funds for scholarship of teaching/learning projects are to be used for improvement and innovation of teaching strategies. The Council is made up of representatives from each college, the Library, the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs, Office of Assessment and Institutional Research, Academic Computing. Further information about the structure and mission of the Council can be found in the Faculty Handbook.

Members: Dr. Enmin Zou (Council Chair) (College of Sciences and Technology), Ross Jahnke (College of Liberal Arts), Bill Thibodeaux (Chef John Folse Culinary Institute), Dr. Christopher Castille (College of Business Administration), Melissa Clay (College of Nursing), Debi Benoit (Research and Sponsored Programs), Brandy Burbante (Ellender Library), Dr. Kimberly Reynolds (College of Education and Behavioral Sciences), Melanie Collins (Assessment and Institutional Research), and Perry Lawless (Academic Computing).

  • Nicholls State University Research Council is pleased to announce that funds, considered “seed money”, in the amount of $25,000 are anticipated to be available for grant competition for 2023-2024 and grant proposals are now being accepted. Please submit your proposal no later than 4:30 pm, Friday, April 28, 2023 to Dr. Enmin Zou, Chair via Award announcement will be made by Friday, May 12, 2023.      

    Those with an active Research Council grant are NOT eligible to apply, but their eligibility will be restored for the grant cycle of 2024-2025.

  • There is no maximum award.
  • The award budget is approximately $25,000.
  • The deadline – Friday, April 28, 2023 no later than 4:30 p.m.
  • Submit applications to Dr. Enmin Zou, Chair, at
  • Awards will be announced on Friday, May 12, 2023

The following faculty members were competitively awarded Research Council Awards for 2022-2023:   CONGRATS TO ALL!

Dr. Sarah Bergeron Chemistry and Physical Sciences Isolating Genetic Markers of Crawfish Populations $4,619
Dr. Ramaraj Boopathy Biological Sciences Analysis of Hurricane Ida Overtop Sediments in Larose, LA for Antibiotic Resistant Bacteria, Antibiotic Resistant Genes, and Contaminants $5,400
Dr. Tim Clay Biological Sciences The Use of Geometric Morphometrics to Noninvasively Identify Sex of Hatchling Turtles $3,280
Ross Jahnke Art Serigraphic Artwork Made with Paste Based Inks $2,242
Dr. Balaji Ramachandran Applied Sciences Characterization of a Marsh Terrace Site Using Hyperspectral and LiDAR Sensor Data Mounted on a Small Unmanned Aerial Systems $4,654
Dr. Himanshu Verma Chemistry and Physical Sciences Investigation of Structural and Magnetic Properties in the Nanocomposites of Ferrites $4,805


Technology Fee Grants

This internal grant program exists to fund projects that focus on the integration of technology into the instructional environment. The funding for the grant is generated from the Student Technology Fee – based on a per credit hour student fee. These fees are used to maintain the ITS open labs and to fund different technology projects requested by colleges and/or departments. The projects must directly benefit the students; requests for technology in faculty/staff offices is not permitted by state guidelines. The monies that the Technology Fee awards must be expended for student use and must meet the definition of technology as defined by the ULS board.

  • The term “technology” or “technologies” means computer hardware and software (and the networking and supporting computer and telecommunications infrastructure), laboratory instruments and discipline-specific equipment including but not limited to such items as scales, microscopes and musical instruments.

The proposals submitted each Spring are reviewed by Academic Computing’s technical review committee and then presented to a student subcommittee for consideration.  If the subcommittee reviewing the proposal has any questions, the faculty or staff member writing the proposal may be requested to have a 5-minute interview with the subcommittee to answer any questions they may have regarding the request.  Once voting is complete, everyone submitting a proposal will receive notification of the accepted proposals. Please contact a member of Academic Computing if you are planning to request a technology classroom, have questions regarding the proposals, or need assistance gathering information for a proposal.

Internal Proposal/Grant Submission:

Current deadline: TBA.  All proposals will be processed through electronic submission through the campus online form submission.

Instructions on how to complete and submit a Student Technology Fee Proposal are located at the following link under the Academic Computing section.

Cash Matches for External Grants:

This aspect of the grant funding is specifically designed only to provide a match to external grants. In general, the Technology Fee will match up to 10 percent of the total requested. The portion of the grant requesting the cash match must meet the regulations for Technology Fee monies as stated by the ULS board.

  • To request cash matches for external grants, contact Mr. Ryan Dubina at 448-4978 or at
  • There is a limit amount of monies available each year for cash matches. The maximum award is a match of 10 percent of the total grant you are applying for with an external funder.
The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.